Muxe Inc Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Stonehead

Linux bugs in 2.30.2830

Guest Stonehead   
Guest Stonehead

You have been warned, this is a first-user-report :)

I sprang up with joy when I learned that there is still life in my favourite DOS program ever. I've been running Linux for the past seven years, so I lost contact. Anyway, this was a real MS-DOS week for me: there was a topic on digg.com about the leaked MS DOS 6-source code on Google Code Search, then I tried to install the setedit/rhide programming environment in Linux (which works quite well, actually - pity that it isn't really maintained anymore, it seems) - and now NDN!

First, I tried the 'stable' Linux version. It is very funny: it tries to represent 'drives' on my Linux system (which seems totally awkward), and you can even configure them for 'fast disk access using int29h' :)

There are lots of small bugs, but the main usage problem is that lots of shortkeys don't work. None of the Alt-shortcuts work, some Ctrl-shortcuts interfere with KDE. When I tried to scan the directory tree - a feature that I really, really miss in Midnight Commander - ndn seemed either to hang or to recurse forever. Anyway, I couldn't see what it did or how I could stop it, so I killed it.

Then I discovered that there was a beta version. Which was about a whole year newer. Say, three days old. (Wow!) So, forget about my rambling above.

Installing it is weird.

- Why a .rar package? It's a fine Russian packer and I already had unrar, but it's not really common.

- Why do I manually have to 'chmod a+x ndn' to be able to run ndn?

Running it is even weirder.

- The first time I start NDN in my xterm with a 'Large' font setting, it first changes the font (eek!) and then crashes with an 'Exception 0D9h at address 0041628a in f:\NDN\source\views.pas, Line 1441'. The crash does not occur when I leave the xterm to the default font.